A (quick) breather before placement begins!

So, I’ve come to the end of what feels like the busiest week I’ve had in a long time and I am very much looking forward to the weekend. Not that this means I’ve come to the end of my to do list, just to the end of the ‘I need to do this now or I’m going to run out of time to do it’ list, which I’m sure will sprout some more tasks by the end of the day.

Placement officially starts on Monday and I’ve just had my initial planning and preliminary tasks signed off ready to go. The last couple of weeks have really ramped up on the course – in the last week I’ve handed in two assignments, completed all of the preliminary placement tasks, including short term planning for all of my initial lessons, while attending uni and school on a full-time basis.

I’d be lying if I said there hadn’t been any moments in the last few weeks where I’ve stopped and thought ‘what am I doing?’ and ‘can I actually do this?’, but the minute you walk into school (at 7.45 a.m. I might add) you forget that and remember that this is what it’s all about – even if you are functioning entirely on coffee and had to work through Dallas and Grand Designs the night before!

The class I have are brilliant – they are inquisitive, lively and eager to learn and I can’t wait to start teaching them properly next week. Right now though I’m going to have a break and prepare myself for Monday. I’ll let you know how that goes next week…

Leave a Reply

